Manually Sync

Apart from synchronizing a transcript automatically, Sync Plus provides a manual option that allows you to go through the transcript line by line and fill in timecodes as the video plays. To manually sync a transcript, open the DVT and use the following steps:

  1. Click Manual Sync in the Transcript ribbon bar.
  2. Manual Sync mode activates at the line you currently have selected in the transcript. This way, if you had started in the middle of the transcript, you would not lose your place.

  3. Click a line as a starting point.
  4. If the selected line isn't where you want to start the manual sync, click on the line in the transcript where you want to begin.

  5. Play the video.

    Note: Use the Pause hotkey to toggle the video on and off. For more information, see the Use Sync Hotkeys topic.

  6. Press the Spacebar each time the video reaches the desired point in the line.
  7. Every time you press the Spacebar, a timecode is entered next to the selected line according to the current timestamp of the video.

    Follow this method all the way through the deposition video.

Note: As you make changes in Manual Sync mode, at any point during the process, you can click the Save Changes button in the ribbon bar. When you click this button, your progress up to that point is saved.

Mark Multiple Lines as Unspoken

There could be several lines in the transcript that you may want to mark as unspoken lines. You can use the following steps to change the lines all at once:

  1. Select all of the unspoken lines with the mouse.
  2. To select all of the lines, hold down the left mouse button on the first unspoken line you want to mark. Then drag the mouse down to the last line you want to mark.

  3. Press the X key on the keyboard.
  4. All the lines selected are marked as unspoken.

Exit Manual Sync Mode

To exit Manual Sync mode, use the following steps:

  1. Click the Manual Sync button again.
  2. A dialog appears prompting you to save the changes you made with Manual Sync mode active. The dialog contains the following options:

    • Save - The changes are saved immediately
    • Don't Save - The changes are not saved and will be lost when you close the transcript
    • Cancel - No action is taken
  3. Click Save.
  4. The changes are saved.

After you synchronize a transcript, you have the option to review it. See Review a Digital Video Transcript for more information.

 

Related Topics

Overview: Transcript Tab

Edit a Transcript

Review a Digital Video Transcript