FAQs: Install, Update, Upgrade, and Migration

Expand the options below to find the answers to our most common questions related to installing, updating, or upgrading Local or TrialDirector.

General Installer Questions

ClosedDo I have to be online in order to install TrialDirector or Local?

No. Starting with version 2019.3.0, the installer no longer requires an Internet connection to function. Since the installer does not require a user login, it can be deployed completely offline. All application resources are included within the installation package, meaning there are no additional files to download.

 

ClosedHow do I activate the application?

Starting with version 2019.3.0, you are no longer required to license the application at time of install. The first time the user launches TrialDirector or the Local Dashboard, they are then prompted to activate the application on that particular PC.

 

ClosedCan I deploy the installer silently?

Yes. The Local and TrialDirector installer can be deployed silently from an administrator command prompt or with other software management tools, such as SCCM.

 

ClosedOn a given machine, is the application available only to the specific user or by machine?

The installer deploys the application at a machine level - not user level. This means that any user with access to the workstation will have access to the application, but access will depend on intent. If the intent is to have three users log in to the product under one Windows profile, TrialDirector will always default to the first TrialDirector subscription user that logged in.

For example, User 1, User 2, and User 3 share the TrialDirector application from a single Windows login. User 1 is the first user to log in with their User 1 subscription email. When User 2 and User 3 launch TrialDirector in the same Windows profile, TrialDirector will automatically log in with the subscription email for User 1 when the software is launched. This is to due to limitations with Microsoft's operating system. See below for the options User 2 and User 3 will have in this scenario.

  • Option 1: Both users log out of the subscription account for User 1 and log in with their own subscription account.

  • Option 2: User 2 and User 3 create individual Windows profiles and log in with their own Windows profile before logging into TrialDirector. This option will also allow User 2 and User 3 to automatically log in to TrialDirector.

ClosedDoes the installer save system restore points before a user installs and/or uninstalls the application?

When System Protection is enabled within Windows, this new installer is designed to automatically create System Restore Points for both install and un-install activities. The automatic Restore Points are governed by Windows – but user created Restore Points can be used, as well.

ClosedAre native images created for all assemblies deployed with the application?

To ensure the fastest and most reliable application launch experience, the new installer will automatically create Native Images for all applicable assemblies (EXE/DLL) deployed with the application.

 

ClosedIs there a standard deployment path for TrialDirector and Local?

Both TrialDirector and Local applications are now deployed to a common default application and program data paths. This change will ensure that application files and program data can be easily located in standard deployment scenarios.

 

ClosedHow will future updates be managed for TrialDirector and Local?

Future updates will now all be initiated by the user and not automatically downloaded or deployed by the application. This change will ensure that users control when they update the application in the future.

 

ClosedDo TrialDirector and Local support mass deployment?

Yes. IT Professionals can deploy TrialDirector or Local to multiple desktops within their organization at once. Using mass deployment tools, such as SCCM or Group Policy – this is an effective way to ensure that the application is reliably and consistently deployed to users within their organization.

 

ClosedCan Local or TrialDirector be deployed for remote users?

Local or TrialDirector has been tested and is only supported on a classic LAN configuration. Some users may require flexibility to use these applications remotely. For more information, see Remote Access Configuration Network Maps for discovery ][ Local or Remote Access Configuration Network Maps for TrialDirector.

Installation Troubleshooting

ClosedWhen I installed Local I set the Network Data Store path to a directory that is not accessible to other users. Can I change the Network Data Store path after installation?

No, you cannot change the Network Data Store path after installation. To correct the path, you will need to re-install Local using a UNC path that is accessible by all case users. If you use a mapped drive, instead of a UNC path, the installation will fail.

 

ClosedMy installation failed, and the install log file mentions that it "could not find part of the path." What happened?

During the installation process, a step may appear in the wizard prompting you to input a Network Data Store path. The Network Data Store synchronizes changes in a multi-user environment. If you already have Eclipse SE installed on your machine, the sysdir.txt file associated with Eclipse SE will automatically be used for the Network Data Store, and you will not be prompted to input a Network UNC path. However, if Eclipse SE was originally configured using a mapped drive, you must first re-configure it before installing Local. If you do not re-configure SE with a network UNC before installing Local, the installation will fail.

To check to see if your Eclipse SE System Directory was configured using a mapped drive, open the Eclipse SE Administration application, click the System Management tab, then select System Authorization.

The System Directory field displays the path where the System Directory is located. If the path shows a mapped drive, you will need to change it before installing Local. For help on how to do this, contact IPRO support.

 

Upgrading from TrialDirector to Local

ClosedI am upgrading from TrialDirector to the full Local. What happens to cases that I created in TrialDirector before the upgrade?

When you upgrade to the full Local suite, cases created in TrialDirector before the upgrade will continue to be viewable in both Case Story and TrialDirector. However, these cases will not show up in the Case Management, Administration, Processing, or Review modules. This applies to both locally-created cases and data sync cases.

After upgrading to the full Local suite, you should create all cases in the Case Management module.

 

Migrate from SE

ClosedI migrated users that, in Eclipse SE, were Super Administrators. It seems that they do not have the same level of permissions in Local. How do I fix this?

Individuals who were previously assigned Super Administrator privileges will need to be set as administrators in the Web Portal to have equivalent privileges in the Local application. There is no limit to the number of users that can be set as administrators in the Web Portal. For more information, see Set Administrators.

 

ClosedI am trying to migrate a case but the case does not show up in the window that lists the cases available for migration?

Either you already migrated the case, or you already have a case with the same name in Case Management or in TrialDirector. You cannot migrate a case if a case of the same name already exists in the database.

 

ClosedI migrated Eclipse SE users but my users cannot log in to the Local application that I installed for them. How do they get access?

Users must first log in to the Web Portal and accept the End-User License Agreement before they will be able to log in to the Local client. For more information, see Migrate Cases and Users from Eclipse SE to discovery ][ Local and Sign In to the Web Portal with a New Account.

 

ClosedI migrated from Eclipse SE to Local. My users can see the cases that they are assigned to in Review. But, I just made additional changes to the case that they do not see when they click the Refresh icon in Review?

If you've migrated users from SE, these users will be reflected in the Case Management module. They will be able to access the case in Review only after they have logged in online and accepted the EULA, after which they will be able to access assigned new or migrated cases in Review. However, if you subsequently change users/groups/case information, any user that has the Review module open will have to exit and re-enter the module in order to see the changes.